Living in the Future

11 May

I’ve heard many times it’s very dangerous to live in the past, but what about living in the future? I would consider that a step above simply “predicting” the future. Living in the future involves completely immersing yourself in possible scenarios that may or may not actually happen. The problem is pretty obvious – we have absolutely no idea what will happen even 30 seconds from now. We set ourselves up for disappointment when we try to live in the future.

Because I’m a Christian, I believe that no matter what we choose in life, if we are on God’s path, He will lead us in the right direction. Not because He wants to control our lives, but because He knows what’s absolutely best for us. It boils down to the simple premise that no matter what happens, life will turn out exactly as it should. It’s just a matter of timing.

There are a lot of areas in my life that I struggle with on a minute-ly basis – relationships, finances, my career path. But when I look back on what has changed and what has become of me, I understand that I am precisely where I need to be right now. How quickly I get to my proper destination is up to the choices I make, but I will get there eventually. I find this especially true when it comes to dating. I waver between waiting to find the “perfect guy” and simply dating a great guy until I’m ready to be alone. As I blogged previously, right now I’m leaning to the latter of those options.

My Mom always warns me to never “waste my time” when it comes to dating, and I tend to agree with her. It’s often better to just be single than to be with someone temporarily who isn’t right for you and be hurt or hurt someone else when it ends. And it always ends.

Maybe it’s because I’m secretly competitive or that I’m openly optimistic, but I am never willing to give up on something until I have absolutely no other options. What I’ve learned is that with every person I meet, I discover the things about a relationship that I desire and the things that I can’t handle. It’s impossible to learn what you want if you always avoid the arduous problem-solving in the first place.

Every aspect of life is like that. You have to walk through it in order to come out on the other side actually learning the proper lesson.

Do you agree?

Leave a Reply

