Life’s Not-So-Little Worries

25 May

Drag your thoughts away from your troubles…by the ears, by the heels, or any other way you can manage it. ~Mark Twain

Any stranger could probably have just one conversation with me and know that I’m a worrier. It’s inextricably linked to my perfectionism: when I am unsure of a situation or an outcome that I cannot pre-plan or control I ponder on it. I obsess over it. I think about every possible variable, every potential resolution until I can come up with something that eases my mind.

The problem is, most of life’s issues are very complex. If I really sat down and tried to think of every possible scenario for the troubles I face at present, I could spend days thinking until my brain hurt. My favorite Scripture is “Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.” (Phil. 4:6, NAS) I wish I could say that this is how I live my life for the most part, but when it comes to certain issues, I always worry first and then pray second.

So how can something like this be overcome? How can we stop worrying and start praying more and/or be more optimistic? Practice. Unfortunately, that means experiencing life’s negative moments firsthand. That’s the difficult part. There truly is no way to move around problems. You have to move through them.

At the moment, I’m having an unusual occurrence of writer’s block. Why? Because I’m worried about something, of course! So I will end this for now and take a moment to pray.

How do you deal with your worry?

Leave a Reply

