On Making Sacrifices

15 Aug

Although being a thirty-something certainly has its perks, it is days like today when I long for those teen-aged and twenty-something years.

Today I had to make the extraordinarily painful decision to let go of a second vacation in lieu of other more pressing expenses. Back in the day, I was very blessed to not have to choose. If I was working, I would just limit other expenses and catch up on them later, all while traveling the world and eating out. If I was jobless, I’d simply borrow the money until I could pay folks back.

Those days are over.

The ubiquitous Spider-Man phrase, “With great power, comes great responsibility” comes to mind. I now have a great job with great benefits, but it has caused my disposable income to shrink drastically. Not only is my age causing my medical expenses to increase, but my car’s age is showing too.

Instead of dropping a couple of bucks here and there, I’m having to drop thousands into my ride and to my body — much, much more than I anticipated.  Years of maintenance prescriptions and weekly Chick-fil-A trips have caught up to my waistline and my pocketbook.

For some reason, this was one of the hardest blogs to compose and will be one of the shortest. Sometimes it takes drastic decisions to make you realize it’s time for a change. This is one of those times.

One small step: Today, I made time to go grocery shopping before my paycheck was depleted. It felt nice to not have to limit myself to the frozen food aisle. 🙂

One Response to “On Making Sacrifices”

  1. Mysteresc August 15, 2010 at 9:25 pm #

    Ah, the cursed thing called "responsibility". Sometimes it can really suck.

Leave a Reply

