Thankfulness about the year so far…

14 Nov

I apologize. I’m sure most have you have forgotten that I even do a blog. Since I haven’t decided to put ads on it, or make it something as part of my writing portfolio, I let it kind of die out. I hadn’t had much to write about, either, as life has changed very little since my last post.

I’m very happy to say life has been much less hectic this year. With Mom’s healing, things are going back to normal, and for this, I am eternally grateful.

Since we are pushing closer and closer to Thanksgiving, and it seems like tradition to write down for what you are most grateful, I decided to succomb and do one of my own.

I Am Thankful For. . .

1) My Mom – Not just the fact that she has survived breast cancer and back surgery, but she managed to go back to being her old self in the process. There have still been a lot of struggles, as expected, but this has been a much easier year on her and my family.

2) My Boyfriend – I think if you knew of my more private journal, you would really understand the woes that have befallen my love life. For the most part, I rushed into relationships, knowing full well this probably wasn’t going to work, but would go for it anyway.

Today, I can finally say that I’ve found “The One.” I’ve only known him as an acquaintance for a couple of years, and we’ve only been dating for about a month and a half, but it’s really the first time I’ve ever met someone who meshes with me in a way that’s comforting and not grating. He and I have both decided that we will be a part of each other’s futures. Needless to say, this prospect frightens me, since we still have so much to learn about each other. But it has been such a sweet, fulfilling relationship so far. Hands down, he is the best thing to happen to me in a long, long time. He really does embody many of the qualities I outlined in my “man list.”

3) My Job – Yes, I dislike it. Yes, it’s absolutely not the kind of job I should be doing, but regardless I am grateful for the quiet and the pay and the folks I work with. Just really what I needed right now.

I encourage all of you to come up with your own lists of things to be grateful for and refer back to them when you can. 🙂


Leave a Reply

