Lex-ons? Ex-Lessons? Help Me Write My Book!

7 Nov
lessons I learned from my exes

I called this photoshoot, “Vices From a Lost Flame.” Catchy?

Well, here goes. It’s book writin’ time! (Please repeat last sentence loudly a la The Thing.)

I originally posted this in November of last year during National Novel Writing Month, but there was a long gap where I didn’t do much with the book. I’m now back in the game.

It will be a series of creative stories very much based on my dating life. I’ll also include interviews with relationship experts and other people I think are awesome, including Ash Ambirge of The Middle Finger Project.

I’ll be presenting several exes (even ex-friends) and the positive things I learned from them – knowledge, hobbies, interests. The good stuff. The stuff that tends to get overlooked because you’re too busy focusing on the mind-crushing heartbreak.

Even ones that technically hurt your lungs, like cigar smoking. It was brief. But somehow lasted much longer than the relationship ever did.

The process has been a bit cathartic, and it’s awesome to think about those great memories.

Of course I’ll dedicate a section to my husband, who has introduced me to new things, but has also changed my perspective on unconditional love.

I’m also going to include space for you to write down things you’ve learned (and destroy after completion, if need be.)

I’ll probably self-publish this one. Hey, maybe someone will read it and want to publish it traditionally and soon after ink a movie deal! 😉

If you want to follow my journey as I go through the process and possibly contribute (because I, for real, can’t think of a title) please sign up for email updates.

To see my inspiration, check out my Pinterest board on the book.

Photo: Phil Campbell, Creative Light Photography

7 Responses to “Lex-ons? Ex-Lessons? Help Me Write My Book!”

  1. miek November 7, 2013 at 7:48 pm #

    How does Jason feel about this?

    • Willi November 7, 2013 at 7:51 pm #

      He’s excited about it. He really thinks I should write a book. And he’s happy that I’m focusing on positive things and not all the crappy stuff, LOL.

  2. antonrasmussen November 7, 2013 at 8:39 pm #

    Wow! This is a great concept for a book.

    So many times we focus on the negatives . . . esp. when it comes to our exes. But, a book about the positive stuff. Now THAT’s unique.

    Looking forward to following along as you get this done.

    • Willi November 8, 2013 at 3:45 am #

      Thanks!! I really appreciate it.

  3. Dianne Sarah Kaye P February 25, 2014 at 11:20 am #

    How’s the book coming? ^^ Wish I could help but I don’t know how and I think it’s late.

    • Willi February 26, 2014 at 6:50 pm #

      I’ve been working on a couple other projects but I hope to pick it back up soon!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2 Ways Breakups Can Rock Your Business (For Good!) | My Freelance Life - February 14, 2014

    […] So I’m writing a book about my exes. Nope,  I won’t simply be griping about how they hurt me or the jerks they were to me. […]

Leave a Reply

