Dance Central Fitness Challenge

22 Jan

2015/01/img_1259.png

Well, it’s time to get my groove on yet again. I want to dance every day as part of a regular aerobic routine. I’ll be measuring time, calories spent, pounds lost and song difficulty.

Wait. Song difficulty? So how do I figure that out? (Glad you asked!)

When you want to dance but don’t want to sweat it out at a Zumba class or dark night club, there’s Dance Central using the Kinect on XBox.

In my view, Dance the best of the best among dancing and rhythm games. You are mirroring the moves of fictional dance teams, and it will really get your heart rate going.

The biggest advantage? You have to move both your arms and legs correctly. Thankfully, it doesn’t count against you to turn your head a certain way (so you can see what you’re doing) but it’s not as easy as it looks.

Many of the dance moves resemble steps you’d see in an aerobics class and not a dance club. For many of their songs, they’ll incorporate any signature dance moves associated with the song. There’s easy, normal, and hard. The more difficult, the more moves you have to learn.

For instance, in Dance Central 3, you really are doing the Gangnam Style dance. Like, for real. Those are the steps. (Not that I’ve tried to memorize it or anything…)

It also has a fitness mode, which reduces the wait time in between songs and counts calories and amount of time spent. There are multiple options – so if you want to really get pumping but only have a limited amount of time, you can do a 10 minute high-impact version. Want to stay in for the long haul? A 30-minute version with slower songs.

The one issue is I think the calorie counter is vastly underestimating how much you’re burning. You’ll need to determine that using other methods.

In July 2013, I was able to do this on Dance Central 2 for at least 15 minutes every day. It. was. brutal. But I got more energy, was able to dance longer and managed to beat the game (on easy mode, of course.)

Why did I stop? Well, vacation got in the way. Or someone would be using the television…blah blah blah excuse excuse. I work from home. I have plenty of time to get it done.

So that’s what I intend to do. I’ve read Leo Babauta’s blog on micro-habits so I’m doing 5 minutes every day. (about 2 songs)

I already have a lovely virtual accountability partner but could definitely use your help. Short of hiring an actual personal trainer to come and turn on the XBox for me, I have zero motivation. Usually it’s because I’m exhausted, which I know could be helped with exercise.

So if you see me online or want to send me a quick Tweet or Facebook post asking how I’m doing, please do. Even if you think you’re bothering me (you’re not). This is why I’m creating this fitness challenge.

If you want to do it along with me, that’s great too. The Dance Central series is exclusive XBox 360/One. If you have a Playstation 3, 4 or the Wii (or just want to try something different on XBox One) there’s Just Dance, with a great song collection. The only issue with the game is, once you get really good at it, you can wave your arms and not really participate with your legs.

Are you with me? Just want to cheer me on? Talk to me in the comments.

Leave a Reply

