The Price of Being Fashion Impaired

2 Feb

2015/01/img_1262.png

Several blogging buddies of mine are total fashion mavens, along with all of the other ladies in my immediate family. They always wear the right thing at the right time.

I’ve never been that way. I always chose comfort over cuteness, and if an outfit happened to be both, then great.

I recently watched a series called “Sweatshop,” where several European teenagers who blog about or love fashion were sent to live and work in Cambodia in a garment sweatshop (I believe they made H&M clothing). Of course, these kids were completely changed and traumatized.

It really made me think about my shopping choices as well, so I started bookmarking free trade sites that weren’t crazy expensive.

At one point in the show, one of the workers they befriended said, “I only go clothes shopping twice a year.” And, of course, they were aghast.

“Wow,” I thought. “I go shopping less frequently than a struggling Cambodian factory worker who makes $3 a day.”

I’ve always hated clothes shopping. As a kid, I whined whenever I had to be dragged around on Saturdays to different stores. Thankfully, this was back in the day when Radio Shack was around and you could sit there for as long as you wanted and play around on their demo computers. (Yup, a nerd even then.)

And if there was no place to play, I’d just sit in the car, much to the consternation of Mom.

I’ve always been an advocate of putting money towards food than clothes, and of course, my husband isn’t into shopping so I rarely get new things.

Of course, you get to the point where you’ve been photographed wearing the same dress at multiple events for the past five years, and you get kind of tired of it. Or, I’d grown and the outfit was too small or it had fallen apart after use. This usually only happened once a year. Still trying to figure out how I always seem to have a minimum of 5 loads of laundry between hubby and I.

I had no idea that not being fashion conscious would get me into trouble.

I had a new gig as an admin, and I thought I was doing great. But a few weeks into the job, my boss told me that I need to stop coming in wearing casual clothes. I was shocked. I told her I hadn’t been wearing casual clothes, and she informed me that I wore yoga pants to work.

Wha? Yoga pants?

To me, yoga pants were like any other gym clothing:  really tight fitting, colorful, maybe made of Lycra and super comfy.

Oh, how wrong was I.

Apparently the pants I had gotten as hand-me-downs that I absolutely LOVED were yoga pants.

yoga dress pants

There I am, in the middle wearing yoga pants, IN PUBLIC.

I’ll admit, I was really taken aback and kind of frustrated. I thought I was looking great at work, but apparently I was digging myself into a work-fashion hole. And my pants weren’t particularly tight.

I’ve only tried yoga once. It was really hard, and I probably wore shorts. So I had no clue exactly what she was referencing.

But, since I hated shopping, I decided to wear what I think is still the only pair of actual dress pants I own and lots of skirts and dresses.

I recently heard about a woman who blogged that she was going to stop wearing yoga pants and leggings to church because it created a “lustful” environment. (Ridiculous, I know, and another blogger had a great counter post revealing her desire for men to stop wearing tailored suits.)

I’ve even encountered sites who sell “dress yoga pants” which I suppose is what I have? I guess?

Needless to say, this is a fashion faux pas I intend to never repeat.

Have you had a “wardrobe malfunction” or committed a fashion crime? Let’s commiserate in the comments.

2 Responses to “The Price of Being Fashion Impaired”

  1. Neri February 2, 2015 at 11:59 pm #

    Ouch, that’s rough! I haven’t worked in an office environment since forever, but when I walk through the ladies section of Target on my way to get clothes for my husband or kids, I baulk at some of the office wear. It all looks so… fitted, so rigid, and not really practical for sitting down in for 8 hours a day!

    Hopefully you don’t have any more awkward moments with your boss 🙂

    • Willi February 3, 2015 at 10:42 am #

      I’m not working there anymore, but I think it will be better with future jobs. And I agree – office wear looks dated and uncomfortable!

Leave a Reply

